Welcome

velvet dresses 19700_edited

If there’s a single image from my childhood that embodies the Papo d’Anjo aesthetic, it’s this photograph of my brothers and me from 1970. The fashions of the time included maxi dresses, elephant bell bottoms, and leisure suits. But our classic blue velvet Florence Eiseman dress clothes stood out for the simple fact that they would have looked beautiful in any era.

I’m certain that had my mother saved them, our outfits would have lasted through my own children and my nieces and nephews. It’s that kind of enduring quality I aspire to when I sit down to create each new Papo d’Anjo collection.

When Papo d’Anjo got into the catalog business, I was amazed at the reports I received from the customer service team here in Lisbon. Many detailed long telephone calls with mothers and grandmothers who wanted to know not only information about sizing and coordinating colors, but also the breed of  the dog shown on page 23 and where they could purchase the rugs pictured on the back cover.

Hearing about these conversations made me realize that my company is more than just a manufacturer of children’s clothing. It’s also a story and a lifestyle.

With this blog, I hope to share a behind-the-scenes look at what shapes the clothes I design. My love of Portugal, the birthplace of both my husband and my children, is obviously part of it and I will be using this space to recommend  some of my favorite aspects of my adopted home. Travel tips, recipes, favorite children’s books–all will be discussed in my posts.

The blog will be updated once a week, sometimes more as news and time permit. I hope you enjoy it and welcome you to join me in what I hope will be an ongoing conversation.

Catherine Monteiro de Barros

15 Responses to “Welcome”


  1. 1 Tricia Collie August 4, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    It is so funny to me that you mention “single image from your childhood that embodies Papa D’anjo aesthetics” because an image that sticks out in my childhood is the RED DUFFLE Coat!

    In fact- I spent 5 hours last Friday SEARCHING the internet for one for my first and only son who is 13 months old. I was so upset because I had a wonderful image of him sporting one around this Fall and could not find one that was just right. Then I received your Fall Line email today and I felt like my wish had been granted! Yours is perfect!!!!!!!!!

    My son is only 13 months old so this is my first year as a customer but he wears lots of your clothes and they are by far my most favorite. (We always dress him in Papa D’Anjo for good photo ops!)

    I look forward to reading your blog. I am working on one of my own that will hopefully be up by the end of Summer. http://www.tohappydays.com
    The idea of it is similar to your opening entry- pics of good old times and where to find things similar now.
    I will be sure to plug in Papa D’Anjo as much as possible.

    Thank you thank you for making such fabulous clothes!

    Best,
    Tricia Collie

  2. 2 Mary de Sojo August 4, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Dear Catherine,

    I am delighted with your designs and fabrics. Children feel and look great. And the most important thing is they maintain the innocence of the childhood.

    My best wishes,
    Mary de Sojo

  3. 3 Liz Banfield August 4, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    My children wear many beautiful garments by Papo D’Anjo and we delight in seeing them dressed in well-made, beautiful clothing. I grieve a little bit as they grow out of certain items but take solace in knowing that they will be saved for grandchildren someday.

    We are also huge fans of your moccasins and would love to hear more about their design and manufacture. Also, I’d be first in line if you sold them in adult sizes!

    Thanks Catherine!

  4. 5 Alicia August 5, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    Ohhh how exciting!!! I just love your clothing for my daughter…I love your fast shipping…and I love the little pretty bag the goodies show up in! When I wanted to do a photo tribute to my Nana…I knew right where to buy a classic dress. Im sad to say she never got to see her 50’s tribute, but I will always look at them and think of her!

  5. 6 Miriam A. Wellons August 7, 2009 at 4:28 am

    Dear Catherine, I just want to thank you once again for such a beautiful Fall line and the clothes as always are unique and perfection and always so comfortable. Thank you for your kindness and these clothes are heirlooms and will be handed down for generations to come for our family. Thank you for all your hard work and dedication to an another new season. Blessings, Miriam

  6. 7 Siobhán Boyle Luedtke August 12, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Dear Catherine – my extended family and I just love your clothes for children…well-made and timeless! I have many pictures of my nieces and nephews wearing your clothes! If you are interested in adding to your website….a webpage with a gallery of “real kids” wearing Papo, we would be happy to participate! We can send you our wedding party picture….all 5 children wore the winter green plaid collection from 2007 (dresses, pants, and jackets)! They looked just gorgeous!

    ….we will continue to enjoy your creativity and pass these clothes down from generation to generation!

    Slaite,

    Siobhán Boyle Luedtke
    St. Paul, Minnesota, US

    • 8 papodanjo August 12, 2009 at 8:04 pm

      Thanks so much to everyone for their enthusiasm and kind responses. I will be asking people to share their own Papo photos on this blog down the line. Every holiday season Papo d’Anjo receives many cards showing children dressed in our clothes. I love seeing them and leave them up for the entire year for the staff to admire.

  7. 9 sally hyland August 12, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    i,too love the clothes at Papo D”anjo,they certainly remind me of my childhood in New York…..they are timeless and i always buy some for my grandaughters!

    They are wonderful and well-made….something,forgotten today….

    i love the catalog and pictures….and study them all!

    Thank you,Catherine!

    S.Hyland

  8. 10 Amy M. August 24, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Please Please Please bring back the PJ’s, Our suitcase got stolen and every year I buy my 5 boys the night wear. Why did you eliminate them from your collection this year? We love them and so do all the visitors we have. I have told many European friends about your clothes, they are excellent and the best quality around!

    Hopefull,
    Amy

    • 11 papodanjo August 31, 2009 at 12:38 pm

      Thanks for writing, Amy. European safety standards for pajamas are different than American standards. Because comfort, quality, and safety are important to us, we took a season off from producing the PJs while we searched for a fabric that would both meet American requirements and satisfy our expectations for quality. I’m so sorry you had to do without the pajamas for a season, but I’m happy to report that we have found a terrific solution and the pajamas will be back in the Spring/Summer 2010 collections.

      All best,
      Catherine

  9. 12 Eiseman Company LLC February 5, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Thank you for posting that photo! I ran across it in Google images and would very much like to add it to our Facebook page with your permission. We love seeing vintage photos of children in our clothing.

  10. 15 Ms.Erzsebet BORBOLA March 24, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Dear Sirs/Madame Thank you very much for your catalog Summer 2010.Where and hown can I to order? I am living in to the Netherlands? Thank’s. I am returning costumer by you, Erzsebet Borbola. bettybo@kabelfoon.net. best regards


Leave a Reply

