What do teenagers wear?

military jacket

Like many young women their age, my teenage daughters Camilla and Tati buy their clothes at trendy stores like Zara, The Gap, and Urban Outfitters.  But there are a few items they wear from my collections, including the Wool Military Coat in this photograph. In fact, I created it when Tati told me that she wanted a military-style coat, but couldn’t find one she liked.

With Tati’s input, I chose high end fabrics in shades that I thought were fashionable yet still youthful.  Then I gave the coats a twist by lining each color with a coordinating Liberty print.  I’m happy to report that both Camilla and Tati are looking forward to wearing them once the cool weather arrives.

In addition to the Military Coat, my daughters also love the Monteria boots; more than a few mothers have told us that they do as well. Classsics such as the Cable Cashmere Cardigan and the Liberty Tati Blouse still get closet space,  as do the Pleated Flannel Dress and the Striped Wool Scarves. I also designed the Smocked Liberty Jersey Dress and Smocked Jersey Top  to appeal to older girls. 

Of course at Camilla and Tati’s ages, part of the fun of fashion is making your own choices. While that has certainly resulted in some outfits that I don’t understand, it makes me happy that both my daughters have an appreciation for classic style.

I’m curious about how other mothers of teenagers have navigated their daughters’ clothing choices.  Do you have any influence over what they wear?

8 Responses to “What do teenagers wear?”


  1. 1 T. Welden August 19, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    I found your comments on “What do teenagers wear?” useful. Your clothes are so lovely and well-made, I’ve often wished the sizes were larger. Our daughter is 12, but she wears Papo d’Anjo size 14, when we can find clothing made in that size. The “Ribbed Turtleneck” is a classic, great for school, but not available in 14 or larger. The Girl’s “Velvet Corduroys” come in 14, thank you! You also had great ribbed cotton zip-up cardigans in size 14, which she wore every day at school. She’s quite the tomboy, and doesn’t pay much attention to fashion (yet), so I have the teen years to look forward to. Is there any chance more of the Papo d’Anjo classics could be extended to size 14 or larger?
    Many thanks, Thorn Welden

    • 2 papodanjo August 20, 2009 at 3:04 pm

      Dear Thorn,
      Thank you so much for your comments about larger sizes. At Papo we
      are constantly evaluating that tricky question of what to do about the demand
      for sizes 14 and larger. We do in fact attempt to include a few styles every
      season for the “older” girls, but this business is not really a booming one due
      to the sheer fact that pre-teens are fickle and their tastes change like the
      wind. We like to think we are good at predicting what our customers want but
      when the 12 and 14 year olds start to weigh in, we lose our way. I will keep
      you in mind when it comes to the “classic” styles, however. Thank you again for
      your comments. Sincerely, Catherine

  2. 3 Polly August 26, 2009 at 3:40 am

    My daughter is now 18 years old. We continue to struggle to find great natural fiber clothing such as wool kilts, pleated skirts, corduroy skirts, liberty smocked tops, classic white shirts, knits–especially great sweaters–other than what is offered by J. Crew. Ralph Lauren and their Rugby line offer some things, but not many classics, really. Plus, the prices become prohibitive because of their extensive advertising and fashionable real estate locations. We would be thrilled–THRILLED–to be able to buy Liberty cotton blouses, cable stitch sweaters, turtlenecks, cardigans, pleated or straight skirts, military or pea coats . . . all of these items are basic to ANY young lady’s wardrobe. Would you consider offering these items on a special order basis, say with an order deadline for each season–similar to placing a special order at a Trunk Show? We would be very, very enthused and interested! Many thanks for your consideration.

    • 4 papodanjo August 31, 2009 at 12:40 pm

      Yes, we can do special orders through our trunk show network. I’m asking a customer service representative to contact you personally. Thanks so much for your interest, Catherine

  3. 5 Julie September 1, 2009 at 12:11 am

    Hi, I am looking for a special occasion dress for my 8 year old and 10 year old. My oldest daughter will be a Bat Mitzvah in February and I cannot find any dresses that are special enough for my other daughters. What fabrics can I choose from or styles for a special order?
    Thanks,
    Julie E.

  4. 6 Mariana Ladeira September 9, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Olá,
    sempre gostei das vossas roupas e as modelas são sempre muitos giras e variadas.Continuem que vão longe!

  5. 7 Miriam A. Wellons September 18, 2009 at 1:26 am

    Dear Catherine, I cannot thank you enough for your beautiful fall lineup for 2009. I am always so excited to get our packages and the children and I love every moment of opening their new clothing surprises. The other day my eight year old daughter, Caroline said, “This is as fun as Christmas morning, Mama.” My son who is nine tried on his new pants for school and loves them and will wear only your jeans. I am constantly appreciating all the care and hard work that is put into every item of your clothing line. God Bless you and yours and please know that a family in N. C realizes how wonderful the service and quality is offered every time we anxiously wait for the Fed-X gentleman to arrive with the goodies you have sent us. I know that someday that Connor , Caroline and Hannah Ruth will have beautiful and comfortable clothes to put on their little ones.

    Most Sincerely, Miriam A. wellons

  6. 8 Margrét Kristín Sigurðardóttir March 23, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Hello :=)

    Congratulations with this jacket. It is the most beautiful jacket I have seen for a girl that age. The design and the material is just perfect.

    Do you have your own collection, or do you make cloths only for your kids?

    All my best to you

    Maggastína from Iceland


Leave a Reply

