Lisbon highlight: Castelo de São Jorge

Ruins

We shot most of the holiday 2009 catalog at the Castelo de  São Jorge, or Saint George Castle. Perched on top of one of Lisbon’s highest hills, the castle is a former fortress that was captured from the Moors in 1147. It’s a magical place where you can relax under the shade of cork, olive, and pine trees and take in stunning views of the city.

View of Tagus

The castle is one of Lisbon’s main tourist attractions, yet you never feel the crush of the crowds. One of my favorite ways to spend an afternoon is to have a coffee and pastry at Largo Das Portas do Sol 9. It’s next to the Fundacao Espirito Santo, a must-see museum of Portuguese decorative arts. Great lunch options in the nearby Alfama neighborhood include Sant’ Antonio and Escadinhas do São Miguel.

Inside Castelo

Over the years my family has gone on numerous outings to the castle;  my children have a great time running around and climbing on the ruins. As the catalog photographs make clear, it’s the kind of place where you can relax and be yourself in the midst of incredible history.

a-line

While I’m on the subject of the catalog, I’m often asked what my favorite items are from each collection I design. For this holiday season, I am particularly fond of the A-Line Party Dress. It’s elegant but still youthful and  can easily go from a special family outing to a school recital to the most fancy holiday party.

1 Response to “Lisbon highlight: Castelo de São Jorge”


  1. 1 Nídia Anunciação November 10, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I agree, the Castelo de São Jorge is a great place to visit, especially with children.
    I also love to visit the Castelo de Obidos, walk along the medieval streets and remember the times I went there with my family as a child. It’s a place I’ll never forget.


Leave a Reply

