A Few of My Favorite Things: Best Family Movies

As a designer, I’m always looking for inspiration for my collections and I especially love watching classic family movies for ideas. Like many women of my generation, I watched the  “The Sound of Music” when it was on TV or at a second-run theater. Little did I know how much it would influence my ideas about children’s clothing.

I first visited Salzburg when I took my oldest daughter Camilla to visit a childhood friend, who was living there with her family. Camilla also loved the movie and couldn’t wait to see the glass pavilion where Leisl and Rolf sang “You are Sixteen Going on Seventeen.”  I, on the other hand, was busy observing traditional Austrian clothing–especially the women’s dirndls and the rustic horn buttons used on men’s jackets.

Over the years, many details from “The Sound of Music” and Austria have made it into my collections, from the romantic full skirts on the party dresses to the lederhosen-style suspenders on the boys’ Spanish shorts to the horn buttons on my quilted jackets. I have watched the movie with each of my children and they have all found it as enchanting as I did when I was their age.

What are your family’s favorite movies?

3 Responses to “A Few of My Favorite Things: Best Family Movies”


  1. 1 Elizabeth March 1, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    We love The Parent Trap–both the original and Lindsay Lohan versions.

  2. 2 carol March 3, 2010 at 1:51 am

    We all love to watch The Wizard of Oz. I enjoy it because I remember watching it as a child with my parents and brother and I love the fact that we now watch it with our sons. The last time my father visited we all watched it together! For children’s clothing inspiration, I love The Red Balloon, the French classic.

  3. 3 Vivian March 14, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    We love watching Marry Poppins. It’s a happy, fun-loving musicaL…….Also is a great inspiration for children’s fashion.


Leave a Reply

