Travel Insider: Shaw’s Crab House in Chicago

I was in Chicago last week to attend a conference and visit my parents. I love the city–especially the architecture and the way the buildings wrap around the edge of  Lake Michigan.

While I was there, my brother Gordon introduced me to Shaw’s Crab House.  A local favorite, Shaw’s feels like a combination of a speakeasy and a classic seafood eatery. I loved it so much that I went twice in three nights.

The extensive menu includes everything from sushi to Lake Michigan smelt to lobster bisque. But everyone in my party enjoyed the same delicious meal: oysters for a starter (ask your server for recommendations as the offerings change daily) followed by a jumbo lump crab cake. Made from blue crab meat picked exclusively by Shaw’s, it’s as perfect a crab cake (hardly any breading) as I’ve ever tasted.

Dessert was a shared piece of chocolate layer cake enjoyed to the groove of a Chicago blue’s band. Perfection!



